Uncategorized

Driveway workout

When it’s warm out you will not find me in the gym- I’m either out putting miles on the road or getting in a good old-fashioned driveway workout. My neighbors probably think I’m crazy and I have caught them staring a time or two. I just can’t force myself to workout inside when it’s beautiful out. I do live in the Mid-west so it’s not always beautiful out so when it is I want to SOAK-IT-IN. This love is what helped me to create the driveway workout.

Basically I just grab my home workout equipment- dumbbells, jump rope, medicine ball, and my sneakers, then I’m headed out to the driveway to get a little exercise in. The driveway workout I’m sharing today is in honor of my favorite lower body exercise- the lunge! I don’t know why I love lunges so much, maybe because it starts with “L” and so does my first name or maybe it’s the burn I feel the next day.

Now grab your weights and head out to the driveway or other open space to get this workout started!

img_4759

In this workout there are 3 rounds complete all exercises in the first round 2-3 times before moving onto the next. To keep that heart rate elevated even longer add in 5-10 minutes of cardio between each round! For the weighted exercise I used my 10 pound dumbbells but please use a weight that is comfortable for your own body.

 

Round 1

  • 50 box toe touches (I use stairs on our front porch)
  • 10 weighted curtsy lunges per side
  • 15 weighed regular squats

Round 2

  • 20 squat jumps
  • 10 weighted step back lunges per side
  • 30 second side to side hops (I hop over a line on our driveway)
  • 30 seconds forward and backward hops

Round 3

  • 16 lunge switch jumps
  • 10 weighted side lunges per side
  • 10 standing hip abduction per side

 

I have plenty variations of the driveway workout that will be shared in the future!

Leave a Reply

