Uncategorized

Easy Pumpkin Pie

A quick, easy, and way better than store bought recipe- this pie will satisfy a quick  craving or impress a Holiday crowd!

pieslice

I’m not sure if it was the crisp Autumn air, the falling leaves, or the election drama but I got a craving for pumpkin pie last weeek and I needed to have it! I was not wanting to wait until Thanksgiving to satisfy the craving but I didn’t have time to run the store. After some research I found a recipe that would work with ingredients I had at home (WIN)! Roxy has been enjoying the falling leaves and crisp air to the fullest- see below!

img_4811

I made the pie, we ate it, and it was soooo good- this was all last week and I have been trying to make this post for almost a week now. I kind of hit a block– should I push forward with a blog or am I wasting my time?!?! While I still don’t know the answer I really want to keep trying! I love food, I love fitness, I love reading blogs so why not give sharing my thoughts with the world a try.

plainpp

I hope to work on getting into a rhythm with posting at least a couple of times per week to at least get in the groove. Hopefully if I can get into the groove of just posting  I can grow my content.

bigpie

Now back to this pie- the filling semi-homemade and easy. The crust- completely from scratch and all BUTTER! I am actually using this crust as a base to a dutch apple pie that I will be taking into the office for a Friendsgiving tomorrow. Hopefully you enjoy this pie and pie crust as much as I did.

halfpie

Easy Pumpkin Pie Recipe

Pie Crust Ingredients via Crazy for Crust

  • 1/2 cup butter, diced and chilled
  • 1 1/4 cups AP flour
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 2-4 tablespoons ice water

Directions

  1. Slice butter into 8 slices and then place into freezer
  2. Place flour and salt into food processor
  3. Remove butter and place into food processor
  4. Process the butter, salt, and flour until coarse crumbs form
  5. Through the feed tube add in 1 tablespoon of water and give it a few pulses, continue this process until ingredients form a ball
  6. To keep butter cold I removed the dough ball from the processor to a plate and stuck in the freezer (no more than 5 minutes) while I got my rolling pin and surface ready to roll our the dough
  7. After removing the dough from the freezer place it on a pastry mat, silpat or other non-stick surface and roll the dough until 1/4″ thickness
  8. Carefully move dough into a 9″ pie plate and shape
  9. Cover with plastic wrap and place in refrigerator until ready to use

* Crazy for Crust has some awesome visuals for guidance on the crust recipe

Pie Filling Ingredients

  • 1 (15 ounce) can pumpkin
  • 14 oz sweetened condensed milk
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 2 teaspoons pumpkin pie spice

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 425 degrees
  2. In a large bowl mix all ingredients until they are combined
  3. Carefully pour pie filling into pie crust
  4. Bake pie at 425 degrees for 15 minutes
  5. Reduce oven to 350 and continue baking for 35-40 minutes or until a knife inserted into pie comes out clean
  6. Let cool, slice, cover in whipped cream and enjoy!
  7. Leftovers may be stored in the fridge

 

Leave a Reply

